2012 Luminaria Award Winners

March 19th, 2012


Lorena Blanco-Silva
Office for Equity and Inclusion
University of New Mexico
Phone: (505) 277-1238 / E-mail: lblanco@unm.edu

Division for Equity and Inclusion Announces 3rd Annual Presidential Luminaria Award Recipients
Albuquerque, NM – March 16, 2012 — The Division for Equity and Inclusion is pleased to announce the recipients of the 3rd Annual Presidential Luminaria Awards.

The Luminaria Awards recognize individuals and organizations that have lit the path in areas of diversity, equity, inclusion or social justice. Their commitment can be evident in recruitment and retention of underrepresented groups; teaching, research and/or service; multicultural or cultural awareness programming; social justice organizing, community outreach or other similar activities.

Recipients of the Presidential Luminaria Awards demonstrate an exemplary commitment to addressing diversity, equity, inclusion, or social justice at the University of New Mexico or in New Mexico; emerging or long-term commitment to diversity, equity, inclusion or social justice effort goes above and beyond the routine expectations of the job or project; provide evidence to support the contribution the individual(s) or unit has made in advancing diversity, equity, inclusion or social justice.

“We were very pleased to have a number of nominations reflecting the important work of faculty, staff, students and community members advancing diversity, equity, inclusion and social justice,” said Dr. Jozi De Leon, VP for Equity and Inclusion. “We feel that all our nominees are winners.”

The following recipients will be honored in these categories:

  • Faculty Award: Dr. Nancy Lopez, Associate Professor, Department of Sociology and Dr. Tryphenia Peele-Eady, Assistant Professor, Department of Language, Literacy and Sociocultural Studies
  • Student Award: Ife Ambessah Hampton, Sociology Major and Jordon Johnson, Ph. D. Candidate in American Studies
  • Student Organization Awards: Junior Scientist Outreach Program and the Association for the Advancement of Minorities in Medicine (AAMA)
  • Community Organization Award: Young Women United

“Those that were selected this year exemplify work that is making a difference and strengthening our community,” added De Leon.

The recipients will be honored at the 3rd Annual Presidential Luminaria Awards and Diversity Celebration Fundraising Dinner on Wednesday, March 28th, 2012 at the Albuquerque Convention Center Ballroom C. Author, Educator and Activist Angela Davis will serve as keynote speaker of the fundraising dinner. Tickets are available at http://diverse.unm.edu at $60 per person or $600 per table.

Luminaria nominations were submitted by colleagues, peers, supervisors or advisors (in the case of student nominees) who recognized the significance of the nominee’s work. An independent panel comprised of community members and UNM staff, students and faculty selected recipients.

2012Awardees_Press Release